Electrogatatechnoidolvirus

electrogata

Lately Hello!Project appears to have been infected by an EDM virus which has been affecting all of its recent output. This has been especially apparent in Morning Musume’s last few singles. Ever since “Renai Hunter” with its Dubstep inspired instrumentals came out, the rest of the group’s singles have shown electronic influence in them. It is my opinion that this is the best thing that could have ever happened to the group especially since many people honestly have not been paying attention to them for the last couple of years.

To understand why I am so positive on this change, it’s sort of important to look into my music history. Unlike most idol fans, I never was a gigantic fan of Hello!Project. I did listen to a few singles on Youtube and they did help introduce the concept of idols to me but I wasn’t too crazy about it. At the time, I was a fan of Perfume, Capsule and other electronica-influenced groups. They were the groups that were most like my first musical love, EDM. I was a big fan of Hardcore, DnB, Hardstyle and other genres and I really enjoyed the instrumentals of these groups because of it.

So, given the recent change in Hello!Project’s musical style, you can imagine that I’m pretty happy about it. It has renewed my interest in Morning Musume and has given me the incentive to actually learn the names of the newly added members. Never before would I have included a Hello!Project project song in my top ten singles, but this year I would include several songs in my personal top ten.

Furthermore, I believe that this was a very wise change, with regards to the current music market. The mainstream is currently becoming more and more inclined towards EDM. Dubstep, House, and Trance have become the favorites of many people who would have in the past written off electronic music as boring and repetitive. As a result, many popular artists are incorporating EDM into their music and Tsunku seems to be following suit. Finally he is following modern music trends that will make his music more popular and allow more people who had completely forgotten that Morning Musume existed to get involved with the group.

In short, I love the current trend in Tsunku’s music and I hope he continues with it. It’s currently making me very interested in Hello!Project. The trend, in my opinion, might give Morning Musume and other Hello!Project groups the chance to gain more fans and sell more singles. I just hope that it won’t get overused to the point where we get tired of it.

5 thoughts on “Electrogatatechnoidolvirus”

  1. “…this is the best thing that could have ever happened to the group especially since many people honestly have not been paying attention to them for the last couple of years.”

    I must agree to this. They have certainly grabbed my full attention in 2012 because I wasn’t a constant follower for the Platinum Era even though they had a lot of members that I liked then.

    Totally agree with your last paragraph. In the West, it started around 2007/08 and now it seems everyone is doing electropop music. Look at will.I.am (who I would have preferred back in ’05/’06) or Pitbull for example. With Morning Musume, they were very late to the electropop train but it has definitely brought Morning Musume back into people’s attention and to support them again.

  2. It’s interesting to think that a few years ago we all mainly saw MM stuck doing the same routine with the same members and now, if anything, after pushing through the youngsters and having the older gens leave along with creating their new sound it is MM who look like the fresh young group that AKB48, arguably stuck in their ways, could perhaps learn a thing or two from.

    just a thought……

  3. I really can’t agree at all. And its not because I have some out-of-control nostalgia for H!P (even though I’ve been listening since 2001) like a vast majority of people seem to have and hate that things have changed, but honestly the new music is quite awful to my ears. I’ve never been into this style of dance music though, and have never been able to get into any of the major styles or genres that are based in electronic music. Early Perfume did some interesting things to mix idol style with some EDM stuff, but it stayed far enough out of EDM territory that I actually enjoyed it.

    One of the worst parts is that I know for a fact Tsunku is still very capable of writing good music, he just usually chooses to use most of his good efforts elsewhere in his production career, and probably just because he knows he can pump out any generic crap with H!P and people will still eat it up like pie. Why spend the effort when you don’t have to? Even past that, a few of their recent songs actually did have serviceable compositions, but were ruined by horrendous arrangements and horrible production decisions like auto-tune.

    Also, I think its a bad thing for the long run, because this recent surge of mainstream acceptance of this type of music is probably just a fad, as are so many other things in Japan. The world is crazy about the stuff right now, but in a few years time or less, the mainstream will have moved on to something else. So, instead of following trends, I’d rather he stick to his guns and actually keep some originality with it instead of making a bunch of processed junk. Arguably, most stuff H!P has done in the last 5 or 6 years has lacked originality overall, but there have still been some releases in there that have proven he can still do it if he cares to.

Leave a Reply

