Impressions: BiSimulation

BiS _ _BiSimulaton (Special Edit)_ Music Video(720p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.11_[2013.02.02_20.07.39]

Brand-new Idol Society are set to release their next single “BiSimulation” on March 13th and the PV for the song just recently came out. Join Garry as he shares his initial impressions.

 

Now, if you know anything about me you should know that I’m a pretty big BiS fan. Does that fact potentially mean that I can be bias in my impressions of this PV? Sure, but I’m also someone who doesn’t blindly praise a group’s output just because I’m a fan (see most AKB and Hello!Project fans). If anything the more of a fan that I am, the more critical I’m likely to be. Anyway tangent over, let’s get on with this review type thing.

BiS _ _BiSimulaton (Special Edit)_ Music Video(720p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.03_[2013.02.02_20.17.00]

The PV starts off with the girls looking pretty beat up and dancing in front of a very dull looking off-white background in what appears to be a dimly lit studio. You aren’t immediately drawn in unless you’ve never seen a BiS PV before and are already freaking out about the fact that there is blood on these idols. I mean, who does that right? Well Brand-new Idol Society does that and if you’re already feeling a bit uneasy then you should probably stop reading right now because things are going to get a whole lot uglier.

BiS _ _BiSimulaton (Special Edit)_ Music Video(720p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.06_[2013.02.02_20.22.27]

Six seconds into the video and we’re treated to some close-up shots of each member bruised and covered in what one can only hope isn’t entirely their own blood. These are some very striking visuals, ones that I can appreciate because I’m into the intricacies of horror movie make-up as opposed to the CG bullshit that you see in every modern horror flick these days. However, as someone who has seen a fair number of BiS PVs at this point, things are starting to get a tiny bit repetitive. It’s not like they’re covered in blood in every PV but they’ve done it a few times now and the effect it has, at least for me is starting to wear off a bit.

BiS _ _BiSimulaton (Special Edit)_ Music Video(720p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_01.17_[2013.02.02_20.30.51]

So we’re watching some girls dance around in slow motion, which I think helps the choreography more than it hinders it, but nothing really interesting is happening. Then suddenly, fake blood just starts flying everywhere for no apparent reason. It should be noted that not all of this blood is actually real, it’s just some really nice CG. How do I know that it’s really nice CG? Because everyone I’ve talked to about this PV is convinced that all of the blood seen in these scenes is 100% “real”. Hats off to the special effects team for pulling that off. It’s always nice to see production companies actually put some effort into stuff like this.

BiS _ _BiSimulaton (Special Edit)_ Music Video(720p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_01.43_[2013.02.02_20.35.23]

About half way through the PV the now blood soaked backdrop suddenly falls away to reveal that this PV is actually being shot outside and not in a studio. I’ll admit that it’s a pretty lame reveal but I certainly wasn’t expecting it to happen and it made the PV a bit more interesting than them just dancing in some soulless studio. The funny thing about this whole thing is that everyone I talked to (the same people who thought that all of the blood was real) thought that this part was green screened for some reason. Now, I’m not going to argue that that moon certainly isn’t real because it isn’t but this was actually shot on location despite what you may think. Take a look at Terashima Yufu’s blog where she posts some behind the scenes photos from the shoot.

Not much else happens in the PV after this so I’ll just make a few comments on things I liked and didn’t like before we move on to talk about the song. The one thing that I liked above everything else was the costumes, those are fucking badass. If they made those jackets for guys I would probably buy one. The other thing that I really liked (apart from the make-up and CG blood) was the close-up shots of the girls during the choreography. I thought that these were really well shot and that the slow motion was a really good choice for what they were trying to achieve with this PV.

However, there were a few things that I didn’t particularly care for. The main one being that nothing actually happens in this PV. It’s just girls dancing and being covered in blood. I know that BiS are much better than this so I can’t help but feel let down by the lack of vision for this PV from the director. As I mentioned previously, the reveal was pretty lame and didn’t add much of anything other than a change of scenery which is a shame. Hopefully the next outing shows a bit more creative vision.

Holy fuck, we haven’t even talked about the song yet. We should probably get to that now right? “BiSimulation” is composed by ex-Beat Crusaders member Hidaka Toru and surprisingly enough it’s in the same style as that of their previous releases. I was half expecting some drastic shift in sound but that isn’t the case here. On the one hand, I’m happy that Hidaka didn’t try to impose himself too much on the song but a part of me can’t help but wonder what might have been. Also, one has to wonder why they even bothered to get Hidaka in to compose in the first place if not to change things up a bit. Seems like wasted effort really.

All of that aside, “BiSimulation” is a really catchy number and long time fans of the group should know what to expect at this point. For those of you who have never checked out BiS before for whatever reason then I highly suggest that you do. If you’re into some hard rock instrumentals to accompany your idols then this song should be right up your street.

PV:
3.5_star

Song:
4_star

4 thoughts on “Impressions: BiSimulation”

  1. I don’t think much of the PV. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s just that it doesn’t interest me much. As you said it yourself nothing really happens and the reveal falls flat in its delivery. I don’t mind the blood and the way BiS portrays idols in general. It’s not my thing but it doesn’t bother me at the same time. I just find it ugly. But I do appreciate their effort in trying to shake things up and not conform to predetermined archetypes/stereotypes.

    Regarding the song, I have to agree that it doesn’t deviate from what BiS puts out, but I do find it has a better instrumental arrangement than their previous releases. I also think it matches better with their vocals which makes this song, to me at least, more enjoyable. I like their previous works but it always felt like it was missing something. Imo this one hit it.

  2. I think the PV is awesome. Even though other artists have done a similar thing with blood in videos such as Peaches, It’s always cool. Also the song grows on you, well it did for me.

Leave a Reply

