This Week in Music 03.06.2013

The pickings are pretty slim as far as new music goes this week, which is probably a good thing because I just slept my entire Sunday away so now I’m trying to catch up with a ton of stuff. With that being said, let’s get this show on the road.

 

Alice Juban / Steam Girls – “Kamen Joshi”

alicejubansteamgirls

Our first release this week comes from two Alice Project idol groups. Alice Juban and Steam Girls (I wrote an article about them that you can read here) are teaming up to put out a split single which features the songs “Zenkai☆Hero“, “HIGH and LOW” and “Wohhhh!!!!☆”. If you’re too lazy to click those links and take a listen, the Alice Juban song is a mid-tempo idol rock song while Steam Girls lean more towards synthesizers and the like. Nothing out of the ordinary there then. I personally really like both of these groups and don’t think they get as much coverage as they deserve on most idol related websites. They’re doing all of the right things though so hopefully they start gaining more popularity in the not too distant future. Perhaps you should check them out, so you can say you were into them before they were popular while adjusting your thick black rimmed glasses.

 

Ono Erena – “Kimi Ga Ano Hi Waratteita Imi Wo.

kimigaanohi

This week’s other release that I feel I can say anything remotely informative about is from former AKB48 member Ono Erena. “Kimi Ga Ano Hi Waratteita Imi Wo.” is the latest single in her fledgling solo career and I think it’s a positive step in the right direction. I think I mentioned last time that I was concerned about the overall sound of Ono’s music plateauing so I was pleased to hear that some things had changed on this release. The overall tone is less cutesy and more serious sounding and they even put some guitar and drum tracks in there for the instrumental. Sure it’s still pretty heavily produced but this is the sort of branching out that I wanted to see because I know that Ono has more range than what we’d seen so far. I’m really looking forward to seeing what direction she takes for her next single.

 

ALSO THIS WEEK:

“Mecha High!!” by Aoyama Saint Hachamecha High School
ABAYO” by Ebisu Muscats
Seven Destiny” by Palet

 
Out of the other stuff that’s coming out this week, Aoyama Saint Hachamecha High School are a pretty interesting group from what I’ve seen and heard. Ebisu Muscats will probably interest you if you’re into AV, plus it’s their last single so it’s a pretty big deal. Palet aren’t a group I’d really recommend but there isn’t a ton of stuff to choose from so if you’re into a more traditional idol sound then you probably can’t go too far wrong there. Overall it’s not the best week on the calendar but next week should hopefully make up for it.

Let me know what you’re looking forward to this week in the comments below.
 

3 thoughts on “This Week in Music 03.06.2013”

  1. I preordered Kamen Joshi without knowing what it was going to include, I’m glad I did it.
    Am I hipster nao?

Leave a Reply

