Impressions: Suki! Suki! Skip!

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h32m16s170_600x338

HKT48 seems to be all the rage among the AKS fans these days. What I’ve been clamoring for for the past year now has finally come to fruition in the form of their debut, “Suki! Suki! Skip!”. Click “read more” to find out what I thought about this PV and song!

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h39m45s49_600x338

The PV takes place on a set covered in bubbles. The set contains objects in the back that look like colorful vents that might exist in a Disney theme park. Oh, here’s my favorite friend, the white washing of colors filter, which I have dubbed, “Japan-o-filter”. I just simply do not like seeing the use of this technique in any capacity. Sorry for preferring to see the colors as they are and not with a tint over it.

The close up shots of the members are okay. I think some of the slow-motion work when the members are wearing the performance outfits made some of the members look a bit off at times.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h53m57s111_600x338

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h30m31s142_600x338

The best shots of the PV are easily the ones where the members are having fun with each other wearing the jump suits, such as Murashige annoying other people and being Sheegs.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h54m51s156_600x338

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h53m18s255_600x338

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h31m05s230_600x338

Some of the better member shots in the PV.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h29m40s143_600x338

The dance shots are pretty simple in that they are just far away shots of the members dancing in the same set but wearing different outfits. The choreography is pretty forgettable.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h27m36s164_600x338

Don’t tell me them skipping is awesome because we all knew that was going to be a part of the choreography as soon as they announced the title of the song.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h35m36s113_600x338

I kinda liked the imaginary/transparent chalkboard Sasshi draws on and I’ve always enjoyed Sasshi with glasses.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h44m47s254_600x338

The members are also wearing super colorful outfits that are like pajama jump suits. Each member is wearing all the colors of the rainbow which can be pretty intense on the eyes. Those are some crazy forearm protectors. Looks like something used at a car wash to really get the dirt out.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h34m11s37_600x338

The performance outfits are much cleaner and lighter in color. I definitely prefer the performance outfits and I actually like them quite a bit.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h49m15s127_600x338

Meru launches herself into the air by propelling herself off of a button that destroys the world.

vlcsnap-2013-03-23-17h28m45s105_600x338

Towards the end of the PV, Meru decides to ascend from center status in hopes of reaching Jesus status like Maeda Atsuko.

The song itself is very AKS sounding. Which is why I think that this song feels like a hyped up Under Girls song. That statement is not a slight at all. I enjoy most of the Under Girls songs and this song is no different and this is pretty much what I expected HKT to do for their first release. What separates this song from the other songs that have the same feel is the added random vocals and the girls yelling in parts of the song. Without the dude at the end of the chorus yelling, “one, two, suki, skip” or the members yelling, “waku, waku” in the bridge, this song would have been another Under Girls song for me. I’m glad the composer decided to use those vocals. Even those two small instances added that much more personality to the song for me. I also really enjoyed the composition of the pre-chorus. The rhythm of the instrumentals has a really throwback feel and I had no idea that something like that would be included in this song and took me by surprise. Besides a couple of interesting composition choices, the song is pretty standard and decently catchy. The melodies of the song are fine but nothing that will really haunt you in terms of catchiness.

“Suki! Suki! Skip!” is a good debut by HKT48. This release didn’t really surprise or wow me. I pretty much expected everything that happened with this release but in the end, it’s still solid.

PV:
3_star

Song:
3.5_star

4 thoughts on “Impressions: Suki! Suki! Skip!”

  1. Pretty spot-on! Glad I’m not the only one that hates those filters. The PV really does shine when the girls are just goofing off and being themselves; HKT has a lot of personality and any time they get to show that off is really good for them. Expected or no, when they do the skip dance in the line its really cute. When I first heard the short preview of the song I thought it was pretty generic AKS fare, but hearing the full version made me really like the song a lot more. The last third of the song has a lot more personality. I love that “waku waku” bit too, and also the “Suki! Suki!” chants laid under the last chorus. While I won’t ever say its a great song, I love it (though Onegai Valentine is my favorite track on the single). I hope their next single, though, is really a song to be proud of. What do you think of the other tracks on the single?

    1. I think the B-sides are fine. I think “Onegai Valentine” is definitely the best of them. It was a solid release overall as a package.

Leave a Reply

