Blast from the past: NSK goes to Washington D.C. for AKB48

March 27th, 2012 was when AKB48 came to the United States for the third time and performed at the Lincoln Theatre. The event was announced only about two weeks prior to the actual date, the concert was free, and a mixed senbatsu was to appear.

I’m getting all kinds of nostalgia right now because Hiro from Selective Hearing wrote a great personal piece on how Maeda Atsuko changed his life around this time last year. He mentions the Washington D.C. trip he took just days after Acchan’s graduation announcement. That was a very important moment for me as well. I felt a whirlwind of emotions, I was stressing about my fandom, trips I had to plan, and goals I had to achieve.

What started as a few crazy ideas became the journey of a lifetime where I went from booking a flight only a week in advance and seeing the girls live to planning a trip with some good friends to live it up at the Tokyo Dome and see Maeda Atsuko off (as well as be on TV for it). Last week I saw a few mentions of the D.C. concert and I thought to myself it’s almost insane that a year has passed. Now that I sit back and think about it so much has happened and I’m glad that I was able to experience it the way I could. I still have the flyer that was passed out for the spring concert!

AKB48 Washington D.C. flyer

The sweet memories from last year reminded me that I still had copies of the footage that was taken on Tron’s camcorder. I thought to myself, “you know, it would be good to put that together into a video.” After fumbling around for an hour or two, I was able to patch something together. It started as an unwrapping video for Maeda Atsuko’s 5th photobook, “Bukiyou”, but it became something a bit different. Perhaps it’s a little bit of a tribute and a little bit of a fun mockumentary. Please excuse my pineapple hair, the fluctuations in audio quality and level, and whatnot.

Don’t expect much, but I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it. It’s times like this that I get to sit back and remember that one of the biggest reasons why I continue with the fandom and am the way I am is due to the great community that’s around me. Pat yourselves on the back because this one’s for you guys. Thanks again.

9 thoughts on “Blast from the past: NSK goes to Washington D.C. for AKB48”

      1. I remember we were shoulder to shoulder for some time and I could have sworn we recorded the conversation

  1. I love it. Time has flown by…. I feel all the Washington DC ppl have a special connection through that event. lol

    thanks for posting this.

  2. Just watching this video, I got all teary-eyed. Then, he got the book out without damaging it and all that emotion just flooded out of me. (wink)

    Looks like it was a fun time had by all. Was this the first time any of you guys had met?

Leave a Reply

