This Week in Music 04.10.2013

After last week’s slew of new releases, this week sees us taking a little bit of a breather. Don’t worry though, there’s still some great new things out this week. We’re just concentrating the awesome a little more than usual. Let’s get into it shall we?

 

Cheeky Parade – “C.P.U!?

cpu

Kicking things off this week with one of my favorite Avex groups Cheeky Parade. “C.P.U!?” is their second major label single and it packs the same punch as “BUN BUN NINE9”. I won’t deny that there are quite a few similar elements present in this song that were in “BUN BUN NINE9” but I think it’s sufficiently different. You can start with the cries of “creatively bankrupt” and all the rest if their third single is more of the same. For now, don’t worry about it and just appreciate the music that’s sure to get stuck in your head and get it bobbing along whenever the song comes on. Most people are probably looking forward to what I’m about to talk about next but this is the pick of the week for me.

 

Momoiro Clover Z – “5th Dimension”

5thdimension

Momoiro Clover Z release their second album this week and I can’t help but feel a bit conflicted. I absolutely loved their previous album “Battle and Romance” so when I’m being presented with a space opera concept album I begin to wonder if things have gone a bit too far. The songs that I have heard from the album; “Neo STARGATE” and “「BIRTH Ø BIRTH」” are in keeping with the group’s shift in sound as of late. This certainly isn’t your daddy’s Momoiro Clover, that’s for sure. I don’t know, I’m just not as excited for this as I think I should be. What they’re doing works fine for a couple of songs but if the whole album is like this then I might struggle. Your mileage may vary.

 

NO NAME – “Kono Namida wo Kimi ni Sasagu

kononamida

Last up for this week we have NO NAME, the fictional group of idols from AKB0048 who are voice acted by real idols. Idolception going on over here, it’s so deep and profound. If you’ve watched the second season of the anime then you know what’s on offer. It’s the opening and ending themes for the show packaged into one neat little CD with a couple covers of various AKB songs thrown in for good measure. I personally really like the new songs, they’re not the terrible and generic anime sounding songs that get tacked onto everything these days. They actually sound just like regular AKB songs, and you can’t really ask for more than that. Even if you don’t care about the anime in the slightest, you should still check this out.

 

ALSO THIS WEEK:

“Next Stage / Ano Saka no Ue made” by Up Up Girls (Kari)

 
Okay, let’s recap. Cheeky Parade, awesome. Momoiro Clover Z, eh unsure ask again later. NO NAME, surprisingly good for AKB anime songs. Apart from that, Up Up Girls have yet another single coming out this week. Perhaps one day I will actually manage to catch up with everything they’ve released this year already. But what about you dear reader? What are you looking forward to this week? Let me know in the comment section below this article.
 

One thought on “This Week in Music 04.10.2013”

Leave a Reply

