Impressions: DiE

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.00_[2013.05.26_19.11.56]

Brand-new Idol Society are back baby! With a new song, new members but keeping all of the things you’ve come to know and love. Join me as I share my thoughts and opinions on the PV for their new song “DiE”.

 

I probably say this a lot but I honestly had no idea what to expect going into this release. Wakisaka Yurika had graduated the single prior and Terashima Yufu was also in the process of graduating the group and would not be participating. I was vaguely aware that new members were going to be introduced at some point but I didn’t think it would be in time for the new single. Imagine my surprise when BiS not only revealed 3 new members but that they’d also be participating in the new single. Speaking of those new members, let’s meet them shall we?

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.31_[2013.05.26_19.57.28]
Tentenko

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_01.05_[2013.05.26_20.07.41]
Saki

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_01.35_[2013.05.26_20.10.24]
Uika

Information on the new members is rather limited right now so it’s hard to comment on them properly. Perhaps look for that in a future article on the site.

Well, the first thing you’ve probably noticed about the PV is that the implied nudity is back with a vengeance. I suppose it’s rather fitting in a way, seeing as how “My Ixxx” shot them to infamy a couple of years back and this feels very much like a new beginning too. It’s a nice callback to their roots I suppose although this time much of the nudity is left in leader Pour Lui’s very capable hands. Hirano Nozomi and Uika fans probably won’t be too disappointed either though.

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_03.13_[2013.05.26_20.20.32]

While the girls being in various states of undress does make up the majority of the PV (and it wouldn’t really be a BiS PV if that wasn’t the case right?) there are some rather artistic shots dispersed throughout. At times it’s almost like a making of DVD for a photoshoot or something. You know, if the girls weren’t crying and looking distressed all the time.

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.48_[2013.05.26_20.27.25]

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_01.55_[2013.05.26_20.35.23]

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_00.52_[2013.05.26_20.28.00]

One of the big things I thought the PV did well was the lighting. I don’t claim to be an expert in cinematography but I really like what the director did with shadows here. That might be a rather strange thing to praise in a piece of film but it really does help to accentuate the girls’ features and makes them stand out in a striking way. All of this also really helped to add to the uneasy feeling that served as the backbone to this PV. Not too bad considering this was all shot in each of the members’ houses and not on a professional film set.

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_03.13_[2013.05.26_20.40.32]

BiS _ _DiE (Special Edit)_ Music Video(1080p_H.264-AAC).mp4_snapshot_03.12_[2013.05.26_20.40.06]

Speaking of that uneasy feeling, I’m really not sure what to make of this PV’s concept. On my first viewing I just kinda wrote it off as being provocative, with an artistic use of nudity. However the more I watch it, the more I can’t help but feel there’s something a bit more sinister being implied here. Maybe it’s just the fact that there’s a couple of scenes where it looks like Pour is having sex but I can’t shake the feeling that they’re trying to imply that the girls were raped or something.

It might just be me; but when I see half naked (or completely naked), crying girls laying on the floor or in bed and then later on acting rather distressed in the shower, my mind can’t help but make that kind of connection. I could be completely off base here but it wouldn’t be the first time that BiS have made controversial statements in their music videos. Actually, let me know what you think about this in the comments. I’d really like to hear everyone’s thoughts.

Overall though I have to say that I really like the PV, there isn’t really anything bad that I can say about it. It shows off all of the members very well and the new members get ample screentime and aren’t just shoved into the background like most idol groups tend to do. No, these girls came to make a statement.


Oh boy, I haven’t even talked about the song yet have I? I should probably get to that right now and make it a bit more succinct than my fawning over the PV.

Okay, so first things first. Some people aren’t going to like this song. I know this because the song doesn’t have a distinct hook to it and to a lot people’s ears it’s going to sound incredibly busy. Now, most of these people are only going to listen to the song once and write it off after that. However, if you actually give it a few listens you’ll realize that it’s actually quite well composed and catchy in its own way. It’s just going to take a little time to bed in is all.

Basically what we have is the fairly standard guitar driven J-pop that BiS have adopted over the past year or so. This is also complemented by various other elements which are all very much a part of the BiS sound, such as synthesized pianos and a pounding drum beat. There is a lot going on in the instrumental arrangement but like I said, if you take the time to peel back the layers then you really start to appreciate the intricacies of the song.

Now it’s no PPCC, that’s for sure and it’s certainly not the best song that BiS have ever released but it still has a lot going for it. Pour Lui’s vocals are top notch as usual and the new girls bring something fresh to the table. Nothing sounds incredibly different from the regular BiS vocal styling, mainly because Pour is still singing the majority of the lines but there’s a bit more depth and variety thanks to the new voices. I am really looking forward to things going forward in this regard.

Even if that doesn’t win you over, surely you can appreciate how well the song showcases the new members. Their voices are all very prominent and there are more solo lines than I think anyone really expected. What’s more, these girls can really sing. BiS really didn’t go into this halfhearted, they wanted everyone to see and hear what these new girls are all about.

There isn’t a single or two buffer to ease everyone into the new status quo. The new era of BiS starts right here, right now.

PV:
4_star

Song:
3.5_star

9 thoughts on “Impressions: DiE”

  1. I do agree that the theme seems to be rape or domestic abuse, as the ladies look very distressed and almost hollow. This may be inter-joined with the theme of the song?

  2. I guess I like Pour the best – she’s an original. I like the pigtailed girl (Tentenko?). BiS is one of a kind and I think I like the videos more than the songs usually.

  3. Really can’t get into this song or video at all. I’m all for making artistic statements or having unhappy themes, but this just rubs me the wrong way. I kinda see the whole rape connection thing, though it didn’t occur to me until I read this article, but I guess that’s just how our minds process things differently. The whole video just comes off as hollow and uninteresting as a whole, and doesn’t really fit the song in any way, I have this terrible feeling like they’re kinda trying to appeal to creepy fans who enjoy seeing young girls cry or fantasize about raping them, and that is not OK with me.

    The song also doesn’t do anything for me, its far too plain and repetitive, and I think they’re having the girls sing out of a range they can comfortably do, and it sounds painful and grating at times. Uika sounds pretty good throughout, sounds like her voice can handle that range, at least.

    I do like the new girls and think they fit the group very well, but this song and video don’t really do anything to draw me back in at all. Their last 2 releases just went out with a fizz for me, and it feels at times like they’re almost trying to make them a little more marketable to the mainstream (obviously not to an extreme extent) but the music has become much more lukewarm and simple since after IDOL IS DEAD.

    1. Your point about fans wanting to see young girls cry might make sense if the girls were like 15 or something but none of the girls, or women I guess in BiS are under the age of 21. I suppose there are still people who get off on that kind of thing but I don’t think it was necessarily for fanservice purposes. If anything them wearing very little clothing is more fanservice than the crying.

      Like I said, the song isn’t their best but it’s not terrible. The vocals were rather overproduced I’ll give you that. Way too much post production going on for my liking. That happens on some of their songs unfortunately.

      The move to Avex definitely changed the musical output of the group a bit but I’d disagree that it’s a lot more lukewarm. I thought BiSimulation was a strong offering in the scope of what the group is going for these days. Groups have weak singles every so often plus BiS have had a pretty major overhaul in personnel so expectations have to be adjusted accordingly. Maybe I’m just bias though.

      Thanks for taking the time to give your insight. Always good to hear other people’s thoughts and opinions.

  4. Your first paragraph is definitely pretty correct, I guess I should’ve just phrased it as “girls” instead of specifically young girls, and the scarce clothing and voyeuristic camera shots definitely have a little worse of a connotation than the crying itself. There are just some people who are into that kind of creepy shit, and the crying can insinuate “innocence lost” or something else of that nature, that when coupled with the hint of rape, and its a terrible combination.

    Nothing about BiSimulation really caught me at all, it sounded like a fairly usual rock song and a step down from how interesting most of the previous music was. I did enjoy GET YOU quite a bit, but that wasn’t exactly “their” song, per se, nor their usual style.

    Good read though, in any case. I’ve been trying to read more lately since I’ve started writing again, and I’ll try to comment more when I have some thoughts.

    1. Yeah, the whole crying and being naked thing really makes you think of some grim stuff. I guess it’s a talking point and that’s something BiS tend to be good at encouraging with their PVs.

      “GET YOU” was pretty awesome, I think my favorite part of that collaboration though was the BiS cover of Dorothy Little Happy’s “Demo Sayonara”. They completely killed it on that song and rather showed Dorothy Little Happy up in the process.

      I appreciate the comments. I enjoy hearing feedback and opinions on things that I write so it’s always nice when people take the time to do it.

Leave a Reply

