This Week in Music 06.12.2013

Sashihara Rino sent shockwaves through the AKB48 fandom at the weekend when she became King (Queen?) of the Mountain. The phrase “Somebody get a body bag!” has never been so fitting (seriously it wasn’t even close, she destroyed everyone). My excitement and newly ignited interest in AKB aside, it’s time to talk about this week’s new music releases.

 

Dorothy Little Happy – “Colorful Life

colorfullife

Dorothy Little Happy kick things off for us this week with their new single “Colorful Life”. I’m a fan of DLH’s musical output for the most part so I was fairly optimistic going into this one. I’m fairly positive on this release too, the instrumentals are great and I enjoy the overall sound of the song. However, the vocal delivery gets a bit iffy in places and if I’m being honest the tempo feels a bit off when compared to the instrumentals. It’s like the music is going for a brisk walk while the girls are trying to sprint for the finish line. That’s just me being incredibly picky though, most of you probably wouldn’t notice these things unless they were pointed out to you. Overall still really enjoyable and well worth checking out.

 

Juice=Juice – “Samidare Bijo Ga Samidareru

samidare

Juice=Juice are up to bat next with their second indie single “Samidare Bijo Ga Samidareru”. It sounds quite a bit similar to their first offering “Watashi ga Iu Mae ni Dakishimenakya ne” except much of the horn section has been replaced with guitars. Most of you would call this lazy composing on Tsunku’s part and I can’t say I disagree with that evaluation. However, I still find myself enjoying the song despite this. It has flair and a bit of attitude about it, both things that I enjoy in my music. I can’t help but think that Tsunku gets a much shorter leash when it comes to recycling instrumental arrangements. It’s not like he’s the only one who does it and the people getting hung up on it often miss out on otherwise decent music.

 

SUPER☆GiRLS – “Tokonatsu High Touch

tokonatsu

The last member of this week’s featured release line-up is SUPER☆GiRLS with yet another disgusting bikini summer song. I don’t know if it’s just the fact that it’s SUPER☆GiRLS doing a summer song (last year’s offering wasn’t well received either) but most of the reaction I’ve heard to this song hasn’t been all that positive. Granted some of these people think “Sayonara Crawl” is somehow a summer song but I’m still left puzzled. “Tokonatsu High Touch” isn’t a musical masterpiece sure, in fact it’s pretty cheesy with all of the fanfares and such but come on, it’s fun right? It’s the kind of thing I’d expect and want to hear during the summer from an idol group. Check this one out if you still actually enjoy having fun when listening to idol music.

 

ALSO THIS WEEK:

1%” by Itano Tomomi
Evolution No.9” by 9nine

 
This week’s other releases include Itano Tomomi’s new solo single “1%”. I didn’t really have anything interesting to say about it so that’s why it isn’t a featured release. Sorry, but her music just isn’t for me and I didn’t see the point in featuring something then hating on it. 9nine also have a new single out this week with a fairly mature sound that has some faint elements of K-pop thrown in for good measure. It’s pretty interesting so perhaps you should consider checking it out.

Leave a comment and let me know what you think about this week’s new releases and I’ll see you all back here next week, same time and same place.
 

2 thoughts on “This Week in Music 06.12.2013”

  1. “Evolution No 9” has that guitar lick in it that remind me of Yes’ “Owner of a Lonely Heart”. Catchy!

Leave a Reply

