This Week in Music 06.19.2013

Man do we have a lot of new releases coming out this week. A lot more than I remembered, that’s for sure. Let’s just forget the introductions this week and dive right in.

 

BABYMETAL – “Megitsune

megitsune

BABYMETAL are top of the batting order this week with their new single “Megitsune”. After how well their first release of the year “Ijime, Dame, Zettai” was received, it felt like they had a lot to live up to with their follow up. I’m pleased to say that “Megitsune” more than lives up to the standard set by “Ijime, Dame, Zettai” and I might even go as far as to say that I like it more. The heavy metal instrumentals infused with traditional Japanese elements are incredibly catchy and the vocal performance on show is top notch too. For those of you who care about my opinion, for my money this is the idol release of the week right here.

 

Berryz Koubou – “Golden Chinatown / Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi

goldenchinatown

Berryz Koubou release their 32nd (is it really? I’ve lost count at this point) single titled “Golden Chinatown / Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi” and it feels like I’m one of the few non-Hello!Project fanatics that is hyped for this one. Sure, “Golden Chinatown” is cheesy as all hell but it’s a catchy song and it has a bit of charm to it. There are worse songs out there that get more praise than this. “Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi” is a kinda strange electro-pop ballad type thing, and on an initial listen it doesn’t sound all that great. However, after a couple of plays the chorus starts to get a hook in you and it ends up being okay. I can get why people don’t like this kind of single but I enjoyed it because it’s just a bit of fun.

 

NMB48 – “Bokura no Eureka

bokura

NMB have a new single out this week and I almost didn’t want to talk about it because it’s just so painfully average that it hurts. “Bokura no Eureka” is a pretty mid-tempo song that never really gets where you’d hope it would go and in my humble opinion, it’s probably the worst a-side that NMB48 have ever put out. The b-sides don’t fare much better sadly with “Yabanna Softcream” and “Sayanee” being the standouts in a fairly uninteresting crowd. NMB48 made this big deal about “Teppen Tottande” and wanting to perform on Kohaku at the start of the year. I’m not sure they deserve to be there right now based on this year’s musical output.

 

Ono Erena – “Erena

erena

Our last featured release this week comes from Ono Erena who is releasing her debut album titled “Erena”. The album features all of her singles to date as well as a number of new songs to give the fans who have been with her from the start something to get their teeth into. The Limited B edition of the album features a second disc where Ono covers a variety of Vocaloid songs. Given the less than positive response to Ono’s more Vocaloid style singles, this is probably for the best. If you haven’t been following Ono’s solo career so far, what are you waiting for? Now is the perfect time to get caught up.

 

ALSO THIS WEEK:

“Idol Kaidou” by Locodol Daisakusen Team Tsunagi Joshi
Paradise In The Summer” by Lovely Doll
12345678” by Negaigoto
Shuto Iten Keikaku” by Team Syachihoko
Walk My Way” by Yokoyama Rurika

 
Of the other releases this week, there isn’t really much I can recommend. I’m not sure if the Team Syachihoko song is brilliant or complete garbage and pretty much everything else leaves a lot to be desired. Everything that is, except for the debut solo single of Idoling!!!’s Yokoyama Rurika which is actually quite good and well worth your time.

Leave a comment and let me know what you’re looking forward to this week.
 

4 thoughts on “This Week in Music 06.19.2013”

  1. Yep BABYMETAL win in terms of releases this week for me Megitsune was awesome the first time I heard it and I still find it awesome now after many, many listens, it’s that intro that gets me, hooks me in every single time

    Plus in Nakamoto Suzuka or SU-METAL in this particular case they have a lead who always manages to impress with her charisma and singing talent, I know perhaps the did not have a choice but I am glad the age restriction rule was lifted for her, she is as big a reason as any for BABYMETALS’ success.

    After wincing at the title “Golden Chinatown” is actually not so bad, sure it’s cheesy but who doesn’t like cheese now and again! As for “Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi” again it’s OK but was interesting to see Berryz do something more in line with current H!P music trends…..

    Bokura no Eureka I must admit was a disappointment for me after Ha! and Teppen Tottande I was pretty fired up for NMB’s next single release so this was honestly a bit of a let down for me, it just felt so, un-NMB to me, like the song was not meant for them originally……..

  2. My favorite release this week is Yokoyama Rurika’s by far, as most people have probably seen by my review I wrote for it the other day on Selective Hearing. I’d say NMB’s actually comes in second, and Babymetal’s in 3rd for the week. The rest is stuff that almost falls out of ranking by default (H!P, Syachihoko) or just did nothing for me at all.

    I’ll actually be putting up reviews for the other 2 I mentioned within the next day or two, I’d be interested to have some discussion about them since it seems most people dislike the NMB and love Megitsune (both the opposites of my opinion.)

  3. I am at odds with the review of Bokura no Eureka here as it is right now my favorite song and I really love the B-side song Okuba too. I know it will be #1 in sales because they are already close to the 500K mark. I hope BABYMETAL does well, I really like what they’ve got going on. They would be a great opening act for System of a Down. Will be checking out Erepyon’s new one shortly….

Leave a Reply

