This Week in Music 08.14.2013

This week’s featured releases come from 2&, Bakusute Sotokanda Icchoume and Dream5.

 

2& – “Real / Dream”

realdream

We’re starting this week’s featured releases off with 2& (that’s Double And apparently, yeah go figure). They are my latest hype and they should be yours too. “Real / Dream” is their second single and all we have to go on is a 1 minute preview for the song “Real” but I think even that says a lot about the group. For my money, it’s not as good as their debut “Negaposi Monster” (please click that link, I promise it’s worth your time) but I’m excited by what I’m hearing based off of just two singles. If you only have time to check out one of the release I talk about this week, make it 2&.

 

Bakusute Sotokanda Icchoume – “Bishoujo Mokushiroku

bishoujomokushiroku

Next on the block for this week are Bakusute Sotokanda Icchoume, or “Backstage Pass” to most people I associate with. “Bishoujo Mokushiroku” is the group’s second major single and it’s a bit of a departure from the sound of their previous releases. “Bishoujo Mokushiroku” is more of a ballad than we’re used to, in the vein of something you might hear from Morning Musume (Tsunku does produce both groups after all). That’s not a bad thing, groups need to vary things up every now and then but the song isn’t really setting the world alight. It’s perfectly competent but I’ve heard similar from a lot of other groups so I can’t help but wish for an injection of new ideas because this area of idol music is getting a bit stale for me personally.

 

Dream5 – “We Are Dreamer

wearedreamer

Last up for this week we have Dream5 with their latest single “We Are Dreamer. I’ve always found Dream5 to be a bit hit or miss so I’m never sure what to expect from their music. Well folks, this is what I believe they call a “home run”, in my opinion anyway. Seriously, this is a really good idol song and something I think everyone should check out. There’s a good balance between tempo and melody and you can tell there was a certain degree of thought put into it. I wish Dream5 could consistently put out songs of this quality but I guess I’ll take what I can get.

 

ALSO THIS WEEK:

Tinker Bell Ga Yattekita” by Candy Kiss
“Doll Collection 1” by Lovely Doll

 
I’m not really feeling too strongly one way or another about the releases I didn’t feature this week. It’s hard to judge Candy Kiss’s new single when there’s only live performances with terrible audio to go on. As for Lovely Doll, I’m honestly not that familiar with them but I suppose any album from a group you’ve not had a lot of experience with is worth looking into. Apart from that, it’s a pretty quiet week on the release front.

Leave a comment and let me know what you think of the new music coming out this week.
 

One thought on “This Week in Music 08.14.2013”

Leave a Reply

