This Week in Music 09.11.2013

This week’s featured releases come from Babyraids, Especia and Juice=Juice.

 

Babyraids – “Koyomi No Ue Deha December

koyominouedehadecember

First up this week we have another single from Babyraids. Longtime readers of this feature will know that they blow pretty hot and cold with me. As far as “Koyomi No Ue Deha December” is concerned? It’s pretty lukewarm I guess? It walks the line of almost being catchy but then not really, if that makes sense. There’s moments of brilliance (mostly in the instrumentals) and I’m really close to liking this song but overall there’s just something missing that would really put it over the top. It’s pretty frustrating because I want to like this group but their music is just really hard for me to get into most of the time.

 

Especia – “Midnight Confusion

midnightconfusion

Moving onto something that I had no trouble getting into, this week sees Especia release their first single “Midnight Confusion”. Let me preface this by saying that I’m a pretty big sucker for stuff like funk and 80s disco music but this song is INSANE. I could (and have been) loop this song all day, that’s how much I enjoy it. The instrumentals make me want to get my groove on and the vocals match up very nicely too. Especia are a great group with some really cool music and this particular single is very likely going to feature on my top 10 at the end of the year. I highly recommend that you check it out.

 

Juice=Juice – “Romance No Tochuu / Watashi Ga Iu Mae Ni Dakishimenakyane (Memorial Edit) / Samidare Bijo Ga Samidareru

romancenotochuu

Speaking of funk, jazz, disco and all that stuff you probably think only old people like and listen to, Juice=Juice are releasing their major debut single this week. It’s a triple a-side and you can read the track names above because I’m not typing that out again. Without getting into a multiple paragraph review, if you already liked Juice=Juice then you’ll enjoy this. If you didn’t care for them before, this probably won’t do much to change that. If you haven’t already checked them out then what are you waiting for? They make some pretty good music in this random person on the internet’s opinion.

 

ALSO THIS WEEK:

Uchuu no Kokyuu” by Jerry Beans

 
This week’s other release comes from Jerry Beans, a group I know literally nothing about. “Uchuu no Kokyuu” is a pretty good although fairly standard synth-pop song. Check it out if you feel like it but it’s by no means required listening.

Let me know what you think about this week’s new releases in the comment section below.
 

One thought on “This Week in Music 09.11.2013”

Leave a Reply

