This Week in Music 10.02.2013

This week’s featured releases come from Berryz Koubou, Dempagumi.inc and NMB48.

 

Berryz Koubou – “Motto Zutto Issho Ni Itakatta / Rock Erotic

mottozutto

First up this week we have Berryz Koubou and their latest single “Motto Zutto Issho Ni Itakatta / Rock Erotic”. I have to admit, even I raised an eyebrow at the title “Rock Erotic”. Basically what we have here is a single of two halves (state the obvious why don’t I?); “Motto Zutto” is your fairly basic Berryz sounding song. Not amazing, not terrible but somewhere between the two. “Rock Erotic” on the other hand is a more interesting proposition, in my opinion anyway. It has a bit more bite to it and I find the overall composition to just be a lot more enjoyable. When it comes down to it though, I’m not sure how often I’ll go back and listen to this single. The songs are solid but sadly there just isn’t quite enough to hook me in completely.

 

Dempagumi.inc – “W.W.D 2

wwd2

Next up we have Dempagumi.inc with new single “W.W.D II”. This is a pretty difficult one for me to judge because there’s an awful lot going on and it’s pretty easy to lose track of things with all of the different tempo switches and vocal patterns. I think what I will say is that “W.W.D II” is a good song in some places and a not so good song in other places. That might be a weird thing to say but it should make sense if you listen to the song. Also, be sure to check out the b-side “Not Bocchi…Natsu” which is a fantastic song that’s going to be on my awards list at the end of the year in some capacity. Yeah, I really think that it’s that good.

 

NMB48 – “Kamonegix

kamonegix

Our last featured release (and release in general for that matter) this week is NMB48’s “Kamonegix”. Like a lot of people, I’m not really sure what to think about this. It’s kind of “UZA-lite” I suppose? I mean it’s certainly better than anything else that NMB48 have done this year but I’m not sure clearing that low of a bar is a cause for celebration. It’s not a bad song or anything but I’m not particularly wowed by it. The b-sides? They’re fairly standard AKS fair in that they’re not very memorable but hey, they serve their purpose of filling the CD so I guess you can’t ask for much more than that. Oh, and congrats in advance for making it onto Kouhaku this year NMB, you…earned it?

 

That’s literally everything coming out this week. It’s like all of the other groups took the week off or something. Oh well, I’m sure you can all find something to enjoy from this week’s crop of featured releases.

Let me know what you think in the comment section below.
 

One thought on “This Week in Music 10.02.2013”

Leave a Reply

